Home > Uncategorized > Pimpin’ the desktop!!

Pimpin’ the desktop!!

February 24, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am usually not bothered by the desktop background on either of my machines. Often its either a supercar, a fighter aircraft or (lately) a smart apple logo. Infact most of the times i have a blank black background which serves me well, especially when the desktop is cluttered. But earlier yesterday, helping a friend wit regular expressions i found a few shell scripts online that were rather simple yet impressive!! Suddenly my life had a purpose!

Oh look! Satish just tweeted!! πŸ˜›

  1. sat
    February 25, 2011 at 2:05 am

    Dude awesome maccha. Get me one as soon as possible πŸ™‚ Is Evita Peron same as Eva Peron and is she in any way related to Hitler? I have heard this name too many times. Is she from Argentina?

  2. hk
    February 25, 2011 at 3:23 am

    I have no clue who that is!! πŸ˜› I have a bash script that pulls the “Quote of the moment” every 5 min from http://www.brainyquote.com , and updates it onto the desktop. The one now says “Self-plagiarism is style – Alfred Hitchcock”… πŸ˜€

    Now that you mention, i would be curious to know how she is related to Hitler !! πŸ˜€

  3. February 25, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Brilliant mate! This reminds me of a program for Linux called Conky(http://conky.sourceforge.net/)
    Fancy stuff, me likes πŸ™‚

  4. hk
    February 26, 2011 at 2:55 am

    Thanks Haas!! πŸ™‚
    I use GeekTool. Once the data is setup, I love the idea of not having to go back to an app(unless i wish to modify).. just for viewing data !!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

